top of page

Author Info (and Friday Flying Fun)

My name is Abbie and I'm currently a Student Pilot studying for my Part 107 and PPL.

My ultimate end goal is flying for non-profit causes, disaster aid or medical flights.

I have a long journey ahead of me. I will record most of it here, and YouTube!

So, I currently work at a small FBO (Fixed Base Operator) airport as a fueler. I'm also going to community college full-time credit load to knock off my pre-reqs. Life is good, but busy!

Speaking of which, I flew a drone for the first time this past Friday (the 6th)! The DJI Phantom 3 & the Mavic! They were both my teacher's of course, not mine. I worked until 5:30 (busy day with lots of fuels at the airport today!) and then met teacher at an empty football field. Jane (my teacher) is helping me and some 12+ other students learn about Drones in Emergency Management, and we're preparing to take the Part 107 this November. That means that I have to study for them on top of my regular pre-req classes. Spoiler Alert, it's hard to study for Math 111 when your other class you get to fly drones and wear cool vests'.

I'm doing it all for the vest. (it's a good joke to keep around. gotta keep the roast alive somehow eh?)

But life is good, I flew both drones very well even though we were up against 26 MPH winds (23 KTS). Or, maybe that credit is all due towards the impeccable design of the drones, I was just having a holiday with the joysticks. Either way, I really enjoyed getting to fly each for about 10 minutes before the sun put a stop to our plans and Jane had to leave to have dinner with her family. As for me, I hopped in my beat-up Honda Civic (which is actually not mine and is 13 years old and has very unseemly dents that add character and btw run on-sentences are a problem of mine and yes I do talk like this in real life at times) and had some pita burrito things at home. I'm a pretty good chef too if I say so myself. I can cook 3 things: oatmeal, beans, and banana ice cream.

Stay Studious everyone, I'll see you in the next post!

Thoughts While Studying:

  • I see sectionals in my sleep...I dream of getting lost often

  • sectionals look like graphic designers on speed...anyone else agree..?

  • Celsius conversion on TAF, what a rodeo man, as if they weren't complex enough.

  • reading TAF/METAR is currently my biggest obstacle right now.

(and ps, here's my latest video if you want to see my try to explain my first flight and the beauty of smith rock. also, I get a free headset so that's a monumental part of training!):

bottom of page