top of page

Fired. Again. The airport. Yeah.

I'll be honest, I'm not sure how to go about this.

I can write really easily most times because there's no judgement, nobody to interrupt even or tell me I'm an idiot.

Although none of that bothers me, it feels nice to get it all off my chest in one go without questions that frankly, I don't know the answer to.

I really don't.

But here's what happened with my whole job situation the past 6 months:

  1. I was working part time (20-30 hrs a week, 2-3 days only bc long 10 hr shifts) at my local small FBO. I loved working at the airport and on a small team, but the pay was really low and there was no room for advancement at all other than picking up more hours...

  2. However, I did make some great connections there. I met many other pilots, made many friends, and got 2 job connections that I tried to bank on. Each slowly ended up not working out.

  3. By this time, I had quit the FBO job in October 2018. The pay was too low to supplement my next training, which is IFR. I also knew there was no opportunity to advance, and I wasn't learning as much as when I first started.

  4. I quit in October while working part time at the FBO, I worked for someone I met there who I signed a contract with and was planning on working with even more after quitting. I made a good amount with him, and enjoyed working as my own boss and in my own hours.

  5. But while we were talking about expanding and me creating some content for him and continuing to sign another contract, he became flaky and I got busy with school and flaked and we both suck at texting and I know it's partly an excuse, but things did sort of fall through.

  6. He asked if I could upgrade my laptop and editing equipment, but it was difficult because he wasn't paying me enough.

  7. So the money for YouTube, work, personal life, school, and flight training, it all comes from my pocket. This stress overwhelmed me and after I ended at the FBO and with the contract man who I wont name, I wasn't sure how to continue. I didn't want to go back to being a brainless employee and any old job I could get my application shoved into, but now I'm truly jobless without even some sort of side gig.

  8. I got hired at the Part 135 I was talking about in the other post ("New Job Working at the airport again") but after being led on for A FULL MONTH by them saying they were "going to train me", they then dropped the bomb that actually they had decided to pull my hiring status. I was and am extremely upset because the time I wasted waiting around thinking they were going to train me, I could have been using to seek other employment opportunities.

  9. Now I have no closure on why they dropped me, no chance to know what's wrong with my references or resume, and no job.

  10. The stress mounts because I wanted to start IFR training this Summer, but that will not be happening now. And I still don't have a CFI.

Ok, let's take a breather break. Enjoy these complimentary slides show of inspirational sayings I got off pinterest to refresh you mind soul and body while I go cool off some steam & grab some much needed water:

REGARDLESS OF ALL THIS MESS. I'm still immensely grateful for where I am in my life right now, & to Globalair for the scholarship: https://www.globalair.com/ I used the 3rd-to-last check of $250 towards my CFI and his prop (see 1 post ago) and now I KNOW I'd be even more stressed if I had no scholarships checks at all! It reminds me of when I got fired at the flight school because I was (in essence) "too short to operate our equipment" which was a nice way of saying I was a big fat liability to the company (hehe).

So I set my sights on a flight school right across the field and that's how I ended up at the FBO over the summer for a whole year......and getting my PPL in that time!

11. I'm very busy trying to finish this term strong, get my Associates DONE, and get a job!

I'm also keeping faithful to Youtube, which hilariously enough has become my only hope at income as of late! Speaking of which, cool new videos every week my dude, check it out if you want! :)

bottom of page