top of page

Working at the Airport

So, what do I do...? You mean, other than make bomb burned popcorn, specialty a la' microwave?

Well, a typical day at work looks like this:

6:00 am - get up 7 wash face, get ready for work

6:45 am - leave to work, about 20 min drive (blest short commute)

7:00 am - fill out clock in time on shift papers, drop backpack & my things in office.

7:15 am - go out to trucks and let them run for 10 mins.

7:20 am - while trucks are running, check fuel samples (sump fuel).

8:00 am - check bathrooms for toilet paper refilling and napkins, clean if needed, mop floor if needed.

9:00 am - generally doing fuels calls or random maintenance around airport.

9:15 am - vacuum, taking out trash or homework (or taking my homework to the trash...jk)

10:00 am - I pull out the laptop to study a bit, or my textbook. answer phone calls at same time.

11:00 am - fuel calls, or studying, or talking to someone and avoiding homework. refill the coffee!

12:00 pm - lunch time, or I take it at 12;40-2, really depends when I'm hungry and have free time.

1:00 pm - nerding out over the RV that just came in with my coworker, admiring the nice paint job.

1:15 pm - the PIC of the RV calls for fuel, I go fuel him & talk to him about his plane.

1:20 pm - and the weather. for pilots, weather is not small talk, it's thee talk. The Most Important Talk.

2:00 pm - things are either really slow, & I'm cruising with my hw, or the place is hopping with pilots.

3:45 pm - clouds are well-cleared by this point in the day, or it's pouring rain.

4:00 pm - I sometimes eat here, a late lunch early dinner type thing. it varies.

4:50 pm - "hmm, time to pack up here soon" *takes swig of water bottle*

5:00 pm - on weekends, I get off at 5. otherwise, I get off 5:30 & 5 is when I put the trucks away.

5:30 pm - I left if it's the weekend, if not, I'm putting trucks away, closing the register, & locking doors.

if you want to see it all visually, I made a quick video! I hope you enjoy :

bottom of page